skip to main content

Welcoming New Members

Welcoming New Members photo thumbnail139384

Earlier this month, the Oakdale-Bohemia Middle School proudly welcomed 31 new members into the school’s chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. 

The ceremony, which was held in the school’s auditorium, began with honor society officers lighting candles representing Scholarship, Character, Leadership, Citizenship and Service. Oakdale-Bohemia Middle School Principal Susanne Bailey and adviser Mary McGonnell welcomed the new members, along with their families and distinguished guests for joining them for this special occasion. 

Members of the National Junior Honor Society are chosen based on their outstanding academic work, along with their contributions to OBMS and the surrounding community. In addition, social studies teacher Dr. Carmela Gustafson was named the OBMS 2019 honorary inductee during the ceremony.

A reception honoring the inductees and their proud families was held in the cafeteria following the conclusion of the ceremony.  

The district congratulates the newly inducted members of the OBMS chapter of the National Junior Honor Society: Shayann Ahmed, Lauren Boland, Anthony Cannella, Cole Castaldo, Ava Catania, Courtney DeCristafaro, Liliana DeMarco, Natalia Dobush, Jack Dowdell, Alysa Feldman, Madison Fiorini, Morgan Gibbons, Kadi Haynes, Ryan Homayoon, Olivia Karl, Julia Kotliar, Nicole Kurzrock, Mia Lange, Madison Mileti, Isabella Montuori, Amelie Moussa, Andrew Mullane, Ryan O’Hara, Daniella O’Neill, Katerina Papandon, Heli Patel, William Schub, Rhea Shetty, Joseph Ventimiglia, Frank Viola and Rhiannon Whelan.