skip to main content

Connetquot Math Scholars Inducted into Honor Society

1 thumbnail146593
2 thumbnail146594
4 thumbnail146595
As a result of their commitment, dedication and scholarly achievement, 35 Connetquot High School students were recently inducted into the building’s chapter of Mu Alpha Theta (MAT), the National Mathematics Honor Society.
To begin the ceremony, current officers Edward Sollazo (president), Kevin Wilk (vice president) and Anna Maria Polcini (secretary), along with advisor Christopher Dolce and district Director of Mathematics (K-12) Louise Burger, collectively welcomed the newly inducted members, as well as the proud family members and friends in attendance. The MAT officers then spoke about the history of the national organization and its purpose, as well as the history of mathematics, which dates back to the Babylonians and Egyptians. Then, the new members stood to take the honor society pledge and received their commemorative membership certificates.    

Congratulations to the following inductees: Paige Adamo, Sayida Afghani, Albert Ang, Madeline Barget, Joshus Bohl, Joseph Brimlow, Salvatore Catellano, Stephanie Chen, Karly Colletti, Lauren Dailey, Tara Dean, Christopher DeMarco, Oishi Dey, Kay Giaccone, Kaitlyn Iocca, Angelina Karl, Samantha Kelly, Manar Mabrouk, Emily Mohr, Nichole Nylan, Samantha Ortiz, Zachary Palazzotto, Amanda Perrone, Kathyryn Postel, Tyler Ramacca, Emily Rewkowski, Laney Schmitz, Sevana Smith, Ashley Spillane, Aaron Tabigue, Gianie Toussant, Stacy Vilca, Cadence Vizza, Maxx Waite and Skylar Winslow. 

Mu Alpha Theta is the National High School, and Two-Year College, Mathematics Honor Society. Membership is quite selective for the over 2,100 chapters across the U.S. and several foreign countries.