Districtwide Achievements

Districtwide Achievements photo
Districtwide Achievements photo 2
Districtwide Achievements photo 3
Districtwide Achievements photo 4
The June 12, 2018 Board of Education meeting celebrated multiple achievements of both students and staff alike. 

To begin the night’s recognitions, the fourth-grade students who were named winners in the 2018 Walt Whitman Poetry contest were first asked to recite their beautiful poems and were then presented with tokens of appreciation from the Board of Education for their achievement. The district congratulates Kusumita Burle, Bethany Healy, Julia Schropfer and Kai Shapiro.

John Pearl Elementary School fourth-grade student Meghan Miller was honored for being named the winner of the 2018 Internet Safety Poster Contest and was recognized by the board for her artistic accomplishment. 

The students enrolled in James Longo's fifth-grade class at Duffield Elementary School were commended for capturing the first-place title in Sumdog U.S. National Math Contest, successfully outscoring 1,233 other classes from across the United States. In recognition of this incredible feat, the class, along with Mr. Longo, was recognized by the Board of Education and presented with certificates.

Connetquot High School science research teacher John Halloran was honored for earning the "Distinguished Teacher 2018" award from The Harvard Club of Long Island. In attendance to recognize Mr. Halloran for his accomplishment was Connetquot High School Class of 2017 valedictorian and current Harvard student Mit Patel, who not only nominated Mr. Halloran for this honor but also spoke words of kindness and appreciation for his former teacher. 

Additionally, multiple retirees from the district who served in roles including bus driver, teacher’s assistant and custodial worker were recognized and thanked for their many years of service. The district congratulates and wishes the best to John Boylan, George Braun, Susan Cartier, John Duff, Dorothy Enright, Stephen Humsjo, Ellyn May, Deborah Mescia, Cindy Pesce, Dawn Petrarca, Linda Punicki, Barbara Sakaris, Elizabeth Salva, Liliana Scolaro, James Staer and Carl Varone.