Weekly Sports Update - January 1-5, 2017


Celebrating Decades of Basketball

Thirty former T-Birds representing six decades of Connetquot High School varsity basketball beginning in 1966 recently met at Connetquot High School for the Fourth Basketball Alumni Classic on Saturday, Dec. 30.

Coach Tim Trava, along with assistant coaches Matt Buderman and Keith Cussmano, as well as retired coaches Mike Voyack and Bob Drzal, brought back former student-athletes who hoped to relive the glory of their high school playing days and catch up with former teammates and coaches along the way. The 2017 alumni basketball players entertained their loud and loving fans with stunning displays of defense, long jump shots and sharp passes. 

The alumni were divided into two teams that played two 25-minute periods, ensuring the players plenty of time on the court, along with rest time. The supportive crowd of family and friends cheered the players on, and enjoyed a laugh or two as a few shots fell short of the rim, or rebounders came up with the ball while standing flat-footed. Despite the years of being away from their high school playing days, the 2017 Connetquot basketball alumni game was both highly competitive and fun to watch. Coach Drzal provided the audio play-by-play, as well as colorful commentary.

While the 96-89 final score was impressive, it was the camaraderie of the players and family members enjoying refreshments following the game that made the night especially worthwhile. It was a wonderful experience to see the smiles on the children’s faces after having watched their dads relive their high school playing days.

Thank you to the following players and coaches who made this year’s basketball alumni night so enjoyable: Ryan Andersen (’10), Keith Cussmano (’76), Vic DeReyes (’86), David DeSimone (’14), Kristian Enriquez (’14), Kevin Gustofson (’14), John Hengge (’15), Keith Johnson (’16), Mike Kelly (’85), Danny Lewis (’16), Joe Maniaci (’66), Phil Maniaci (’92), Corey McEvoy (’16), Anthony Migliore (’85), Eric Moore (’92), Bobby Nicholson (’95), Justin Paura (’16), Ryan Pope (’16), Joe Scattariggia (’87), Danny Suchopar (’17) and Ed Vorisek (’07).